top of page
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Writer's pictureRoman Arbisi

Review: The Big Sick


Another year, another surprising romantic comedy surpasses most of the films released this year in terms of quality. Amazon Studios’ “The Big Sick” starring Kumail Nanjiani, Zoe Kazan, Holly Hunter, and Ray Romano is one of the finest achievements in film-making that 2017 has seen. Based on the story of Kumail’s attempt to find love, happiness, and a steady paying job in the windy city of Chicago, “The Big Sick” manages to deliver an honest, endearing, and personal story that is sure to make you laugh and cry. Similar to that of last year’s surprise dramedy “Don’t Think Twice” which was written and directed by professional comedian Mike Burbiglia. The beginning of “Big Sick” almost lost me as it seemed to try and replicate what “Don’t Think Twice” already did, and it had me feeling like this was just a cheap knock off of that version. What awaited me after the first 10 minutes of the film, I was simply not prepared for. “The Big Sick” is hysterical, emotional, personal, honest, and heartfelt, and it’s one of the best romantic comedies ever made. It may even be my absolute favorite. It’s been a very long time since I’ve seen a movie where it reaches out and holds its audience in such a caring way. I know many moviegoers when they hear “Best Comedy of the Year” they think it’ll be in the vein of the big studio comedies like “Daddy’s Home” or “Ghostbusters (2016)”. If you’re reading this without having seen “The Big Sick” don’t anticipate a movie that searches for laughs and a cheap emotional pull in the last quarter of the movie that tries to force you to care. Anticipate a movie that makes those moments of laughter earned, a movie that deserves those moments of sadness, and a movie that understands it’s characters and takes them on this story full of ups and downs. The best part of “The Big Sick” is that the screenplay allows the audience to understand and resonate with the characters. Particularly Kumail, played by...Kumail Nanjiani. A Pakistani stand-up comedian who is trying to make it big with his comedic sensibilities and struggling with his love life and life with his strict family policies. We follow Kumail on this journey about unraveling the complexities of religion, romance, family life, work, and balancing that to make himself happy. It’s a marvelous insight to characters that we see parts of ourselves in and it makes the experience all the more unforgettable. Having gone and watched this movie by myself with a handful of people in the auditorium, I had immediately wished I shared this first time experience with many of the closest people in my life. If you can’t make it out with anyone to see the movie that’s fine, but I would highly recommend it. Being able to share the moments of gut-busting laughter and tear-shedding sadness with someone that understands and relates just as much as you do will amplify the experience. “The Big Sick” may have an upperhand in emotionally pulling it’s audience considering it is based on Emily and Kumail meeting each other and falling in love. But it’s the execution that matters and “The Big Sick” is executed as close to perfect as it can get. Despite my biggest gripe being that Judd Apatow’s production company helped produce this movie, and his movies tend to run a bit too long, I could not praise this movie enough. Ever since I stepped out of that theater I’ve been encouraging and pushing fellow film fans to find the time to see “The Big Sick”. You, my readers, I encourage you to actively seek out “The Big Sick” because it would be a colossal mistake to miss this film and not support it with your hard earned money. If you have the money, the time, and can make the commute to your nearest cineplex, go out and support this movie. “The Big Sick” made me laugh, it made me cry, and it made me cry laughing. See. This. Movie. “The Big Sick” gets a 96/100

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page