top of page
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Writer's pictureRoman Arbisi

Review: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows


'Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows' (will be referred to as TMNT 2) was a step down from the previous entry in 2014 but there is still some fun to be had. 'TMNT 2' loses the innocence and magic that the previous film had even when the likable Stephen Amell was added to play Casey Jones and the fan favorite villain, Krang, was joining the franchise. Amell adds very little to the role and did nothing for me as a viewer and Krang's presence is short lived but set-up well enough for future installments. I'm really disappointed by Amell's performance as Jones because I've been a fan of Amell for just over a year now. When he was announced to play Jones I immediately could not wait to see what he would bring to the role. I like the guy tons but he almost took me out of the film every time he was on screen. Director Dave Green ('Earth to Echo') got on board for a fresh take on the Turtles but ultimately it felt like a Michael Bay film. While I actually enjoyed Bay's '13 Hours' earlier this year I felt his stamp on this film. Not the '13 Hours' stamp but his 'Transformers' stamp. Uh-oh. I never minded Bay producing these films because it never felt like his film in 2014, but here, it had Michael Bay written all over it. Its just the way the film comes across. Inconsistent CGI work, a story too advanced for it's own good, and bland performances. While the turtles are very good and the action sequences aren't too bad there is just something about this film that did not sit right with me. Which is unfortunate because I've loved the ninja turtles ever since I was a toddler and this film is very much a live action adaptation of the cartoon but it didn't work. On a positive note we get some excellent camerawork from Dave Green here. Previously we saw more wide shots in TMNT 2014 but here we get closer, tighter shots and right up into the turtles' scaly skin. There's something about it that gave the film a little more pizazz and it felt like Green was an experience filmmaker. He also does a fine job of capturing the action beats as well. There is an airplane sequence and a river sequence in the transition between the second and third act that is absolutely incredible. It’s not on par with the mountain sequence from the first film but it’s a close second. The turtles once again kick all sorts of ass and give us something to gravitate to in this film. This time thanks to the camerawork by Green and the writing of the turtles we finally get a live action TMNT film that gives us more depth and insight to these brothers. I've never been a fan of 90's live action films as I found them absolutely dreadful and they have their fans but these Turtle films are for me. I can totally understand anyone who is turned off by these films but for me I find myself for the most part enjoying myself. The turtles are great and Mikey once more gives us some amazing and memorable laughs, I just wish everything else came together to complete the film going experience. 'Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows' gets a 6.7/10

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page